MARYLAND CORRECTIONAL TRAINING COMMISSION REDACTED *TELECONFERENCE* Minutes – 207th Meeting –January 13, 2022

MEMBERS PRESENT

LaMonte E. Cooke, Director of Correctional Services, Queen Anne's County

Department of Corrections (Vice-Chair)

Secretary Sam Abed, Department of Juvenile Services

Lieutenant Christopher Duffy, Correctional Officer of the State of Maryland

Melinda Grenier, President, Maryland Criminal Justice Association

Annie Harvey, Acting Commissioner of Corrections, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services

Lynette Holmes, Deputy Director, Department of Juvenile Services

Zenita Hurley, Assistant Attorney General representing Brian E. Frosh, Attorney General

Captain Daniel Lasher, Allegany County Detention Center

Wallis Q. Norman, Deputy Secretary of Operations, Department of Juvenile Services

Mary Ann Thompson, President, Maryland Correctional Administrators Association

MEMBERS ABSENT

Secretary Robert L. Green, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (Chair)

Symphar R. Charles, Chief, Learning and Career Development, Federal Bureau of Prisons

Wayne Hill, Deputy Secretary of Operations, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services

Sheriff Michael Lewis, President, Maryland Sheriff's Association

Dr. Beverly O'Bryant, representing Dr. Maria Thompson, President, Coppin State University

Demetrius Page, Division of Parole and Probation

STAFF PRESENT

H. Allen Beard, Jr., Executive Director, Correctional Training Commission

Albert L. Liebno, Jr., Executive Director, Police & Correctional Training Commissions

Wayne Silver, Executive Director, Police Training & Standards Commission

Stephanie Cain, Compliance Administrator

Jeanne Chenoweth, Recorder

Nicholas Hill, Statewide Correctional Academy Director

Katie Johnson, Recorder

Tom Martin, Assistant Director of Correctional Training

Matthew Mellady, Assistant Attorney General

Jane Sachs, Director of Correctional Training

Robert Wagner, Director of Law Enforcement Training

GUESTS

Nicole Amedori, Department of Juvenile Services

Sheila Brown, Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services

Tara Nelson, Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services

Glendell Adamson, Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services

Dionne Randolph, Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services

Rosalyn McDuffie, Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services

Trevonne Walford, Attorney, Kahn, Smith & Collins

The 207th meeting of the Correctional Training Commission (CTC) was held via teleconference, and called to order by the Vice-Chair, Mr. LaMonte E. Cooke, at 10:01 a.m. A quorum was present.

The agenda was as follows:

- 1. Approval of Minutes October 14, 2021
- 2. Facility Report
- 3. Legal Issues
- 4. Election of Vice-Chair
- 5. Old Business
 - a) Update on Job Task Analysis
- 6. New Business
- 7. Request for Recertification

The recorder took a roll call of all members, staff and guests on the call.

1. Approval of Minutes – October 14, 2021

Mr. Cooke asked the members to review the minutes.

A MOTION to approve the minutes from the October 14, 2021 meeting was made by Capt. Daniel Lasher: SECONDED: Ms. Annie Harvey. The MOTION carried.

2. Facility Report

Mr. Albert Liebno, Executive Director of the MD Police & Correctional Training Commissions (MPCTC), directed members to the report, which reviewed the activities at the Center during the past quarter. He noted that agencies should visit MDLE.net for upcoming training programs and announcements. Mr. Liebno also said that reminders were sent to agencies to report in-service and firearms scores for compliance. The information is due to the Certification unit by January 31st to maintain officer certification.

Mr. Liebno added that the Compliance unit conducted three academy audits and one selection standards audit this past quarter, each with no issues to report. There were no questions from the members for Mr. Liebno.

3. Legal Issues

Assistant Attorney General Matthew Mellady stated that the Nwaeke case held oral arguments at the Court of Special Appeals on January 10th. The Commission revoked Nwaeke's certification in 2019. The officer appealed the decision and the decision was upheld in the Circuit Court. Mr. Mellady stated he would report the decision after he receives a response from the Court of Special Appeals.

4. Election of Vice-Chair

Mr. Cooke asked the members to consider nominations for the position of vice-chair.

A MOTION to nominate Mr. LaMonte Cooke was made by Captain Daniel Lasher: SECONDED: Secretary Sam Abed. The MOTION carried.

5. Old Business

a) Update on Job Task Analysis

Mr. Allen Beard, Executive Director of the Correctional Training Commission, introduced himself to the members. He stated that MPCTC correctional units had looked at the objectives from the HumRRO job task analysis report, and that the next step is to methodically identify terminal objectives and produce a final product. Mr. Beard stated he intends to bring the final product to the next Commission meeting.

6. <u>New Business</u>

Ms. Melinda Grenier recognized Ms. Jane Sachs' retirement at the end of January. Members thanked Ms. Sachs for her 45 years of service.

Ms. Zenita Hurley mentioned the introduction of a Senate Bill that would alter the minimum age requirement for employment as a correctional officer in the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services from 21 to 19 years old. The bill would allow hiring at this age, but agencies could still set their own standards. COMAR requires correctional officers be at least 18 years of age.

Recorder's Note: Ms. Chenoweth read the closed session written statement into the record.

A MOTION was made by Capt. Daniel Lasher to adjourn to a Closed Session: SECONDED: Ms. Annie Harvey. The MOTION carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned to a Closed Session at 10:18 a.m.

7. Request for Recertification

A MOTION to table the issue until the agency can complete a follow-up polygraph and present the results was made and SECONDED. The members were polled and the MOTION carried.

Recorder's Note: Secretary Sam Abed and Mr. Matthew Mellady left the meeting at 10:59am.

A MOTION was made by Capt. Daniel Lasher to adjourn to an open session: SECONDED: Lt. Christopher Duffy. The MOTION carried.

Recorder's Note: This concluded closed session. The meeting adjourned to an open session at 11:05 a.m.

Mr. Cooke announced the outcome of the issues discussed during the closed session.

A MOTION to adjourn was made by Lt. Christopher Duffy: SECONDED: Capt. Daniel Lasher. The MOTION carried.

The meeting adjourned at 11:06 a.m.

These "minutes" are a synopsis of the Commission's discussion and decisions and <u>not</u> a verbatim rendering of the proceedings.